Friends, colleagues and fans of the late Nigerian singer, Olanrewaju Fasasi, aka Sound Sultan, gathered on Wednesday July 12, 2023, to keep his legacy alive with a memorial lecture. Tagged, ‘Fractured Bonds: Path to Reconciliation and Healing Post-2023 Elections’, the symposium took place at the Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.

A comedian and media personality, Yaw, moderated the event, while the Senior Pastor of the Daystar Christian Centre, Sam Adeyemi, delivered the keynote speech.

Panellists who contributed to the symposium included ace comedian Alibaba, Imam Hakeem Kosoko, actor and politician, Desmond Elliot; Okey Bakassi, Ayo Animashaun, Chioma Chukwuka and Ruggedman. Each of them shared their unique perspectives on the path to reconciliation and healing in the wake of the 2023 elections.

While delivering his virtual address, Adeyemi said, “Love actually starts from our heart. Love is not just a feeling; it starts with a choice. In my estimation, love is recognising and celebrating the value of another person. That value is rooted in the knowledge that every human is created in the image of God, placing the highest possible value on us. Love is the root of development, and we should strive to transform love into law and value for humanity.”

On his part, Elliot said, “Love is uncompromising. Today, we are more divided as a people than ever before. The only way to bridge this divide is by reminding ourselves that we are Nigerians and that collectively, we are great. The failure of the government to acknowledge and disseminate this information has contributed to the challenges we face today.”

In his remarks, Alibaba highlighted the importance of transparency in elections, saying, “We need to ensure transparency in our electoral process. Furthermore, we must prioritise the education of the electorate. Many citizens lack the necessary education, and their understanding of elections is solely based on what politicians tell them.”

Other attendees at the event were Dare Art-Alade, Zaaki Azzay, Gbenga Adeyinka, Efe Omoregbe and Eddy Lawani.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *