The incumbent Chair of the Osun Football Association, Mr. Ishola Rasaq, on Tuesday, lost his reelection bid to Sola Fanawopo, who emerged as the new chairman of the football body in the state.

A statement by the Osun State Secretary, Sports Writers Association of Nigeria, Tajudeen Amodu, said the exercise held in Osogbo witnessed a hitch when an attempt was made by hoodlums to disrupt the exercise.

Announcing the result, the association’s Electoral Committee Chairman, Tunji Apara said Fanawopo got a total of 20 votes to defeat the incumbent, Mustapha who got 17 votes.

Also at the poll, Adio Oyegunle recorded 23 votes to emerge as the vice chairman. He defeated Adebayo Adesina, who garnered 14 votes while Bankefa Olufemi won the election to represent Obokun/Oriade in a rerun election.

Olufemi polled 19 votes to defeat incumbent Adelowo Adewumi who got 17 votes.

“Other board members who were returned unopposed include Sola Fayoyiwa, Adeogun Isiaka, Dauda Abimbola, Oyebayo Rawlings and Salami Tunde.

“With his election, Sola Fanawopo, and the new board members will pilot affairs of the association for the next four years,” the statement added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *